Blog this!

Micro-fleece Baby Blanket with Crochet Edging

I needed to make a homemade baby blanket fast so I came up with this idea.  I bought some micro-fleece and cut it down to about a 28×28 inch size.  Using a yard stick place about a half of an inch from the edge of the fleece I dotted every half of an inch with a marker all the way around the blanket.  I came up with about 58 marks on each side, give or take a mark.  If it isn’t exactly 58 marks it doesn’t really matter because if you end up with an extra stitch or two you can just slip stitch into them to finish off.

Ok, so after I dotted all of the half inch marks, I then took an exact-o knife and very gently poked into the fleece and raised up just a bit so that it created a slit into the fabric.  I did this all the way around the blanket.

Using an I (5.5 mm Boye) crochet hook and Red Heart Baby white yarn I single crocheted into each of those holes, loosely so that it wouldn’t bunch up around the edge of the blanket.  In the corner holes I did 3 single crochet stitches.

For the girl blanket I did a scalloped edging:

Single crochet into the first stitch, 5 double crochets in the next sc, sk next sc, sc in next sc space.  (scallop made) Repeat all the way around the blanket.  I didn’t make any special exceptions for the corners, I just kept going all the way around.  When you get to your last scallop, sc in the next space and bind off and weave in your ends.

For the boy blanket I did a picot edging:

Chain 1, sc in first 2 sc, *ch 4, sl st in the first ch of ch-4 (picot made).   Then sc in next 3 sc*

Repeat from * to * all the way around the blanket making no special exceptions for each corner.  If you end up with a couple of extra spaces just sc until you meet your beginning, then just sl st into that space and bind off and weave in your ends!

Easy as pie, at least the store bought kind 🙂

3 responses

  1. Linda Anne

    These are so beautiful!!! Our center is so very pleased to be the recipients of your creative work. This will absolutely be one of my new projects, thanks so much for posting.

    February 3, 2009 at 3:07 pm

  2. vasumathi bhat

    very nice and cute

    November 30, 2009 at 10:25 am

  3. Thank you for this pattern! I am fairly new to the world of crochet and knitting. I have been wanting to *spruce up* some pillow cases and now I know how!

    January 3, 2010 at 3:50 am

Leave a Reply

