Blog this!

Men’s Reversible Prayer Shawl

Mens Prayer Shawl PDF

Men’s Reversible Prayer Shawl by Spiffyniftyriffic

mensprayershawl

Size is approximately 16×86 but you can make it any
Length you desire by adding or subtracting stitches on your foundation chain.  To add width you can just add more rows or add more border.
Materials needed are a size M/N crochet hook (9.00mm)
And whatever kind of worsted weight yarn you enjoy working with.  I used I Love This Yarn made by Hobby Lobby.  I used one
skein of Navy and two skeins of Gray Mist.
Yarn Needle

Gauge isn’t important in this project.
This project is completely reversible so there is no wrong or right side to your work.

Start with a chain of 178 with the Gray Mist.
Row 1:  Double crochet in the 3rd chain from hook and across, ch 3, turn.
Row 2:  DC in every stitch across, ch 3, turn.
Repeat Row 2 until you have your shawl as wide as you would like it, changing colors whenever you’d like.  My pattern rows were as follows:  3 Rows of Gray Mist,  1 Row of Navy, 2 Rows of Gray Mist, 1 Row of Navy,  3 Rows of Gray Mist, 3 Rows of Navy, 3 Rows of Gray Mist,  1 Row of Navy, 2 Rows of Gray Mist, 1 Row of Navy, 3 Rows of Gray Mist.

Border:  With Navy, join sl st anywhere on edge of shawl, and sc in every stitch around the shawl, making sure you double sc in the corner stitches.  After you have went around once, sc in each sc stitch around the shawl again, making sure this time you do 3 sc in each corner.  Join with sl st where you begun, and fasten off.  Weave in all of your ends from changing colors with a yarn needle.

12 responses

  1. I’m one of the editors with AllFreeCrochet.com, a website dedicated to the best free crochet patterns, tips and tutorials. I just wanted to let you know we have linked to your prayer shawl pattern at http://www.allfreecrochet.com/Prayer-Shawls/Mens-Reversible-Prayer-Shawl and I think it is such a beautiful pattern! I would absolutely love to feature this in an upcoming newsletter as I know our readers would just love it. It will also bring traffic to your site as well.

    Please let me know if this is okay.

    Thanks!

    November 17, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    • spiffyniftyriffic

      Hello! That is perfectly fine with me!!! Thank you Christine!

      July 26, 2011 at 2:47 pm

    • Marie

      Yes, this is OK. Thanks

      December 1, 2013 at 4:18 pm

  2. Richard Herndon

    What a beautiful Man’s Prayer Shawl. I have been looking at so many shawls and prayer shawls for my Mom and now I have one I can crochet for my Dad also! Thank you so much for providing the pattern.

    I hope you and yours have a Blessed Thanksgiving!

    Richard

    November 25, 2010 at 12:41 am

  3. Geetha

    I love this pattern & the colors used. I’m crazy about crochet, try doing afghans, bracelets, scarfs, bags etc.

    November 25, 2010 at 7:44 am

  4. Jeanne Kampmeyer

    I’m new to crocheting, and I don’t really understand the double chain technique that you have in row 1. I’ve looked at videos on the internet about double chaining, but they don’t indicate that you create a base chain and then double chain on top of that. Would you please explain when you have a moment. Thanks.

    January 28, 2011 at 6:45 pm

    • spiffyniftyriffic

      Hello Jeanne!

      The foundation chain is made, then instead of doing a single crochet all the way across I did a double chain all the way across. I did it this way because I knew I was going to add a border after I was done with the shawl. I hope this helps!!!

      July 26, 2011 at 2:49 pm

  5. Coleen

    Did you use double strands of yarn for this?

    June 22, 2012 at 1:00 am

    • spiffyniftyriffic

      No, I only used one strand at a time. Thanks!

      July 22, 2013 at 9:36 pm

  6. T
    his is great. I usually pick a pattern and try to do it in men type colors. Yours reminds me of a Jewish Tall it with the striping.

    March 3, 2013 at 2:39 am

  7. Frances

    November 6, 2013
    I’m going to crochet this one for the prayer shawl ministry I belong to. Thanks for the easy directions.

    November 6, 2013 at 10:45 pm

    • spiffyniftyriffic

      You are so very welcome!

      November 25, 2013 at 5:29 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.